Home » Cards » MISTAKE….WHAT MISTAKE?

MISTAKE….WHAT MISTAKE?

There is NO MISTAKE WHEN MAKING A CARD – IT’S BEING CREATIVE!! (or changing direction!)

Isn’t that right Ladies?  (I can see you nodding)

That is what I tell my Ladies who attend my classes.

I don’t have classes for another 3 weeks, so I decided to ‘play’ with some techniques on Friday.  It was a very cold morning and what better place to be, but in my craft room, with the heater on and lots of ‘stuff’ to play with.

I took out my Fifth Avenue stamp set (I don’t know of anyone who doesn’t just love that set – Thanks SU).

WIth a piece of blank Whisper White, I stamp the rose image with VersaMark (next step to emboss)  RING, RING goes the phone.  Need to answer, it might be important…. Hi Tess 🙂  It was important!

After a nice chat it is back to the card.  Mmm, the VersaMark is almost dry…. Can’t emboss now.  What to do?  Don’t like to waste paper!!

Out comes the Pastel Chalks and daubers.  Daub on the chalk softly onto the lines of the image.  Mmm…. not bad.  What to do next?

Card stock…. what colours?  I decided to use two colours that I had never used before.  What have I got to lose?  

Then comes the layering, trimming the first layer to make the following layers easier to cut.   The two colours don’t look too bad.  Mmm, might use them again.

Place Rhinestone Brads in each corner of the rose image ….. some how it just doesn’t look right.  I know… remove the brads.  Now I am left with 4 holes that need to be covered up.  Reach for the photo corner punch and punch out 4 small corners. Should I ink the edges.  Nope.  I think I’ll grab the mat pack and piercing tool.  There that’s better.  (Place over the holes made by the brads)  Mistake?  Nope!  Just a change in direction! 😉

Mmm, needs something else.  I know –  A Butterfly!   Stamp a butterfly and punch with our Butterfly punch.  Use a mini-dot and place on the card.  It really doesn’t grab me.  Off with the butterfly – even though I am careful, the mini dot has lifted some of the card.  Yikes.

Stamp a smaller butterfly (the one in the latest mini).  Cut out and glitter.  Place to hide.  There.   Nobody would know!

The only thing I didn’t have to change was the sentiment!! 

MISTAKE(S).  WHAT MISTAKE(S)?   🙂

(Colours used:  Elegant Eggplant (not a good likeness in this picture), and Baja Breezze)

3 thoughts on “MISTAKE….WHAT MISTAKE?

  1. I like that card. Sometimes mistakes end up as successes and this proves it. Have a good holiday.

Leave a Reply

