Home » Big shot » A pillow but not for sleeping

A pillow but not for sleeping

Just received my pillow box die and I am loving it.  Couldn’t wait to show my classes.  The pillow box is easy, using a die and the Big Shot.

Here is what the classes did this week.

 After using Rich Razzleberry for two weeks, I thought I had better use another colour.  Trouble is I picked Chocolate Chip!  My other favourite colour.  BUT…. I promise not to use either colour for the next class card!  🙂

This is a close-up of the flowers.  Being a small box, I wanted a small flower.  I have seen lots of these flowers on the next but they have been made with the scallop circle or a large circle, which wouldn’t look right on the box.

Also, I wanted to attach the flowers to the ribbon without using glue or brads.  I wanted them (the flowers) to stay put.

This is what I came up with.  (Spot the difference?)

     
Punch 5, 1″ circles and sand the edges.  Take each piece and crunch in you hand.
Punch 5, 3/4″ circles and sand the edges. crunch these too.
Find the centre of each set of circles and punch a hole with the Crop-a-dile.

  
Thread the 5, 1″ circles onto ‘soft’ ribbon (I used Chocolate Chip for the class sample – so easy to use)

   
Thread the ribbon back through the hole.  Make sure that the ribbon ends are equal.
Thread a small piece of ribbon through the ribbon loop and apply a double knot.
Pull the ribbon so the double knot sits on the circles.

   
Turn over and tie a single knot.  (Easier to hold when threading the small set of circles.
Thread the small set of circles onto the ribbon, getting pretty close to the large circles.  When you thread the circles, make sure that correct side is not facing you.  (2nd picture)
Thread the ribbon back and complete as with the large circles.

  
The back view.
Fold up, one by one, each circle.  Swish each one.
Don’t open up the flowers until you tie it onto the box.

 
 Use the Trio punch, add bling/glitter to the centre and add flowers to the box with mini-dots.  Use the opposite side for contrast.

Open the flowers (put not the whole way)  Add the three small flowers.  Add a sentiment.  After I stamped my sentiment, I used the word punch.  Thread with linen and tie to the ribbon.
Trim the centre ribbons to your desired length.

STAMP SET:  Teeny Tiny Sentiments
INK:  Chocolate Chip
PAPER:  DSP, Chocolate Chip
PUNCHES:  1 ” Circle, 3/4″ circles, Word Punch, Trio Punch
SIZZIX:  Pillow Box
RIBBON:  Chocolate Chip taffeta.  13″, 2 x 3 1/2″ (to make the loops)
EXTRAS:  Sanding block, long curved Tweezers, Crop-a-dile, linen thread, mini-glue dots.

 NOTE:  I did a trial run in the pink and took pictures.  BUT the class did the Chocolate.  Just in case you didn’t notice 🙂

2 thoughts on “A pillow but not for sleeping

Leave a Reply

